Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/eataller/public_html/wp-content/themes/Divi/functions.php on line 5806
Allergen Sneaky Hiding Places: Gluten & Wheat

Allergen Sneaky Hiding Places: Gluten & Wheat

I’ve compiled a handy list of foods containing gluten to help you know where some sneaky gluten invaders that could be lurking. 

Use this to help you do your food shopping and avoid being glutened again.

Don’t Get Glutened! List of Foods You Would Never Know Contained Gluten

  • Wholegrains (oats are often bulked with wheat or grown in a field next to wheat, spelt, couscous)
  • Deli Meats (sliced ham, beef, chicken, salami and other dried meats)
  • Burgers and Sausages
  • Marinaded Meat, Fish and Vegetables
  • Dry Roast Nuts
  • Sushi (Barley)
  • Crisps (such as Doritos, Cheese and Onion flavour, etc)
  • Chips (cross contamination through fryer or coating)
  • Mashed Potato
  • Soups
  • Ground Spices (wheat flour could be used as an anti-caking agent)
  • Stock Cubes
  • Pickles (malt vinegar, made barley, is often used to pickled eggs or vegetables)
  • Salad Dressings (often the thick creamy dressings can use wheat flour as a thickener. Vinegarettes are usually ok, but still check the ingredients label.)
  • Dips (Taramasalata and other dips could have wheat flour as a thickening agent)
  • Mint Sauce (barley malt vinegar can be used)
  • Soy Sauce
  • Mustard (such as English mustard can often contain wheat flour)
  • Mustard powder (can often contain wheat flour)
  • Asfoetida (used in Indian cooking and can often contain wheat flour as a bulking agent)
  • Icing Sugar
  • Chocolate
  • Ice Cream
  • Quick Action Yeast
  • Baking Powder
  • Beer and Ale
  • Medicine – Check your calpol, contraceptive pill, vitamins and mineral pills

 

Have you found gluten or wheat lurking in other products? Leave a comment below and let me know where else we should be aware of.

Did this post connect with you? Share it with your friends on social media
Allergen Sneaky Hiding Place List: Nuts & Peanuts

Allergen Sneaky Hiding Place List: Nuts & Peanuts

… Foods You Wouldn’t Know Had Tree Nuts & Peanuts In Them

  • Nougat
  • Praline
  • Marzipan
  • Chocolate Bars
    • Beware of orange chocolate, it often contains almonds
  • Pick ’n’ Mix
    • Be aware of chocolate covered almond, Brazil nuts, peanuts etc
  • Pesto
    • Can contain pine nuts, cashews or almonds
  • Alcohol
    • Bombay Sapphire Gin is made with almonds
    • Ameretto (such as the brand Diserrano) is made from almonds
    • Ratafia 
  • Hand Creams (almond oil is a common addition)
  • Bars of Soap (Pears soap used to use nut oils)
  • Face Scrub often can use walnuts kernels as the scrub
  • Massage oil
  • Manicure cuticle softener often contains almonds, macadamia nut oil, or Brazil nut oil
  • Oils used to fry or cook foods (Indian, Chinese, France have been know to cook chips in peanut oil)
  • Salads can be topped with walnuts, almonds for example or have a nut oil on top
  • Curry pastes, dishes and sauces (jars and at restaurants)
  • Thai food
  • Chinese food
  • Jelly Beans (American brand have a peanut flavour with peanut extract!)
  • Extracts (peanut extract, almond extract, pistachio)
  • Gluten free breads, cakes, brownies, biscuits, snack bars
  • Granola 
  • Veggie and Vegan Foods: Stuffing, burgers, vegan cheese
  • Deli cheese and meats (I’ve found packets of sliced ham with a nut warning!)
  • Gourmet foods often garnish with nuts or use nuts oils
  • Baklava is Turkish pastry dessert which contains pistachio
  • Contraceptive pill can have nut warnings too!

These are the various places I’ve found nuts lurking, if you have other places leave a note in the comments below and let me know so I can add it to the list!

Did this post connect with you? Share it with your friends on social media